1. Programm
  2. /
  3. Filmreihen
  4. /
  5. Restart: TRANSTOPIA
  6. /
  7. Mon père, la révolution et moi
Donnerstag, 26. Januar

Mon père, la révolution et moi

Mein Vater, Revolution und Ich
Ufuk Emiroğlu Schweiz 2013 81 Min., OmeU, DCP
Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Özgür Çiçek und Senem Aytaç

In ihrem Spielfilmdebüt My Father, the Revolution and Me, das zwischen Ich-Dokumentarfilm, Fiktion und Animation oszilliert, begibt sich Ufuk Emiroğlu auf eine Reise durch die Vergangenheit ihrer Familie, die schließlich bei ihren Zukunftsträumen endet. Als 32-jährige Frau, die in der Schweiz aufgewachsen ist, reist sie zurück in die Türkei, um die politische Vergangenheit ihres Vaters zu erforschen, der das Land auf Grund des Staatsstreichs 1980 mit seiner Familie verließ. Emiroğlus Film versucht, die Beziehung zu ihrem Vater zu verarbeiten und die Auswirkungen auf ihre eigene Biografie zu erforschen. Dabei eröffnet sie eine Vielzahl von Themen wie Subjektivität, Geschlechterpolitik, Zugehörigkeit und Exil und führt uns durch die Verflechtungen des Persönlichen mit dem Politischen.(SA)

Özgür Çiçek ist Filmwissenschaftlerin und lebt in Berlin. Sie promovierte in Philosophie, Interpretation und Kultur an der Binghamton University und ist derzeit Postdoktorandin an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz. Ihre Forschungsinteressen umfassen nationale/transnationale Kinos, Kinoinitiativen, Migrantenkinos, Gedächtnisstudien und Dokumentarfilme. WEBSITE

Senem Aytaç ist Filmkritikerin und Kuratorin. Seit 2004 ist sie Mitglied des unabhängigen türkischen Filmmagazins Altyazı und Mitbegründerin der Altyazı Cinema Association, die sich mit Zensur und künstlerischer Ausdrucksfreiheit in der Türkei befasst. Derzeit lebt sie in Berlin als Stipendiatin des Artist Residency Program „Hier & Jetzt: Connections“.

Mon père, la révolution et moi Mon père, la révolution et moi

1. Program
  2. /
  3. Film Series
  4. /
  5. Restart: TRANSTOPIA
  6. /
  7. Mon père, la révolution et moi
Thursday, 26. January

Mon père, la révolution et moi

My Father, the Revolution and Me
Ufuk Emiroğlu Switzerland 2013 81 Min., OV with English subs, DCP
Followed by a talk with Özgür Çiçek and Senem Aytaç

In her debut feature My Father, the Revolution and Me, which oscillates between first-person documentary, fiction and animation, Ufuk Emiroğlu goes on a journey through her family’s past before ending up at her dreams for the future. As a thirty-two year old woman who grew up in Switzerland, she travels back to Turkey to explore her father’s political history, one which led them to flee the country at the brink of the 1980 coup d’état. Emiroğlu’s film attempts to come to terms with her relationship with her father and explore the impact on her own biography, opening up a variety of themes such as subjectivity, the politics of gender, belonging and exile, and takes us through the intertwining of the personal with the political.(SA)

Özgür Çiçek is a film scholar and researcher based in Berlin. She is a postdoctoral researcher at Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz. She received her PhD. in Philosophy, Interpretation, and Culture from Binghamton University. Her research interests include national/transnational cinemas, minor cinemas, migrant cinemas, memory studies, and documentary. WEBSITE 

Senem Aytaç is a film critic and curator. She has been a core member of the independent Turkish film magazine Altyazı from 2004. In 2019, she co-founded Altyazı Cinema Association, which focuses on censorship and freedom of artistic expression in Turkey. She is now based in Berlin in collaboration with the Artist Residency Program “Hier & Jetzt: Connections”.

Mon père, la révolution et moi Mon père, la révolution et moi